In accordance with Executive Order No. 325 series of 1996, the Regional Development Council (RDC) of Western Visayas conducted an Organizational Meeting on 18 August 2022 at the RDC Conference Hall, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) VI Office, Fort San Pedro Road, Iloilo City.  A total of 74 full council members were present, in which 47 percent are women.

The RDC is the highest policy making body in the region and the primary institution that sets forward development directions across the different sectors.  Full Council members were called to select nominees for the new Chairperson and Co-Chairperson of the RDC-VI.  The list of nominees will be endorsed by the RDC-VI to the Office of the President of the Republic of the Philippines through the NEDA Central Office for final selection and appointment.  Executive Order No. 325 further provides that in the event that the Chairperson will be selected from the government sector, the Co-Chairperson shall come from the private sector or vice versa.  The appointed nominees shall lead in setting forth development directions in the region during the length of their three-year term from 2022 – 2025, ensuring a matatag, maginhawa at panatag na buhay for all as envisioned in the AmBisyon 2040.

The lone nominee from the government sector is Hon. Alfredo B. Benitez, Mayor of Bacolod City. For the Private Sector, the nominees are: Atty. Joebert A. Peñaflorida of the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI) Western Visayas and Maria Luisa Segovia of the Iloilo Business Club (IBC).

Chairpersons and Co-Chairpersons for the sector committees were also elected as follows:

Development Administration Committee

Chairperson: Engr. Juan Jovian E. Inginiero, Regional Director – DILG VI
Co-Chairperson: Engr. Fulbert C. Woo, President – PCCI Iloilo

Economic Development Committee

Chairperson: Rebecca M. Rascon, Regional Director – DTI VI
Co-Chairperson: Atty. Joebert M. Peñaflorida, Regional Governor – PCCI

Infrastructure Development Committee

Chairperson: Hon. Jerry P. Trenas, Mayor – Iloilo City
Co-Chairperson: Ma. Luisa C. Segovia, Vice President – Iloilo Business Club, Inc.

Social Development Committee

Chairperson: Hon. Rhodora J. Cadiao, Governor – Province of Antique
Co-Chairperson: Heidi G. Foulc, Executive Director – Cameleon Association, Inc.

During this activity, the Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) elected on August 16, 2022 also took oath and were awarded their certificates of membership. (IGPahila/NEDA6 DRD)