NEDA functions as the independent planning agency of government, as provided for in Article XII (Section 9) of the 1987 Constitution. President Corazon C. Aquino later issued Executive Order No. 230 on July 22, 1987 that reorganized NEDA into two separate and distinct entities: the NEDA Board and the NEDA Secretariat.

NEDA Board

The NEDA Board is the country’s highest development planning and policy coordinating body. It is chaired by the President, vice-chaired by the Socioeconomic Planning Secretary, and comprised of various Cabinet secretaries, the President of the Union of Local Authorities of the Philippines, the Governor of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, and the Deputy Governor of the Central Bank.

Assisting the NEDA Board in the performance of its functions are seven cabinet-level inter-agency committees:

Development Budget Coordination Committee (DBCC). Recommends approval of the annual government expenditure program
Investment Coordination Committee (ICC). Evaluates the fiscal, monetary and balance of payments implications of major national projects
Infrastructure Committee (InfraCom). Advises and recommends policies, programs and projects to the President and the NEDA Board along infrastructure development
Social Development Committee (SDC). Advises the President and the NEDA Board along social development matters
Committee on Tariff and Related Matters (CTRM). Advises the President and the NEDA Board on tariff and related matters and coordinates agency and national positions for international negotiations
Regional Development Committee (RDCom). Formulates and monitors the implementation of policies that reduce regional growth disparities and promotes national allocation of resources among regions
National Land Use Committee (NLUC). Formulates national land use and physical planning policies

NEDA Secretariat

The NEDA Secretariat is the Board’s research and technical support arm headed by Socioeconomic Planning Secretary and NEDA Director-General. It has four main offices, namely: National Development Office (NDO) for Policy and Planning, NDO for Investment Programming, Regional Development Office (RDO) and Central Support Office (CSO). Under the RDO are 15 NEDA regional offices and the Regional Development Staff.

NEDA Regional Office VI

NEDA Regional Office VI, headed by a Regional Director with an Assistant Regional Director, is composed of four (4) technical divisions and an administrative division.