The Regional Development Council (RDC) of Western Visayas held the Convention and Election of its Full Council Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) on 16 August 2022 at the RDC Conference Hall, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) VI Office, Fort San Pedro Road, Iloilo City.  A total of 41 PSRs were present for the election, in which 51 percent were women.

PSRs comprise 25 percent of the RDC Full Council members as mandated by Executive Order 325 signed on 7 December 1996, which includes representation from the labor sector.  RDC-accredited PSRs are eligible for full council membership.  Private sector representation ensures participatory decision-making process and substantial representation in terms of agenda formulation and addressing multi-sectoral regional development concerns through policy recommendation and formulation to the RDC, as the highest policy making body in the region.

Twelve (12) PSRs were elected for the RDC sector committees.  Norma Pongan of CORE, Heidi Foulc of Cameleon Association Inc. and Jose Felino P. Resol, Jr. of ATIKHA Overseas Workers and Communities Initiative, Inc. are the PSRs elected to represent the Social Development Council (SDC). Atty. Jobert A. Penaflorida of PCCI Western Visayas, Rose Marie N. Conlu of the POPA Agricultural Cooperative and Arnulfo T. Magcope of the IBON-MPC were elected representing the Economic Development Council (EDC).  Atty Pablo Nava III of TSKI and Engr. Fulbert C. Woo of the PCCI Iloilo Chapter were elected representing the Development Administration Committee (DAC).   Ma. Luisa Segovia of the IBC, Engr. Felvin L. Gurrea of PICE Iloilo Chapter, and Bryan Joseph Castaneda of the Capiz Halaran Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Inc. were elected for the Infrastructure Development Council (IDC).  The labor sector representative is Ma. Victoria C. Bellosillo of the CPURAFLU-FFW who will join the DAC.  Women comprised 42 percent of the elected sectoral PSRs.

In addition to sectoral PSRs, geographic PSRs will also be endorsed by the Provincial Development Councils (PDCs) to represent the six provinces of the region. Mr. Allan Angelo L. Quimpo, Chairperson of Kalibo Save the Mangroves Association, Inc., is a geographic PSR from the Province of Aklan who will join the RDC. Other provinces have still to endorse their PSRs to RDC 6. The term of these elected and LGU-endorsed PSRs shall be from 2022-2025. (IGPahila/NEDA6 DRD)